Music part 2

I pick up my guitar and play

Just like yesterday

Then I get on my knees and I pray

-Won’t Get Fooled Again – The Who

My grandmother kept a drawer of toys and things for us to play with in her house.  One day I discovered an old Hohner harmonica.  I asked her who it belonged to.  She took it from my hand and started playing … and playing … and dancing.  I have no idea what song it was.  I could have been the Star Spangled Banner and I wouldn’t have known, the site of my 70-plus year old grandmother playing and dancing around the kitchen was a total shock.  I can’t think about it without smiling.

I should have known my Dad’s affinity for guitar.  Growing up, there was an old guitar in our attic.  The tailpiece was broken and there was a hole in the body.  We all knew it was my Dad’s but he never spoke of playing.  I bought my first guitar in 1979 and still, my father never mentioned playing.

A few years later, I pulled that old guitar out of the attic.  The harsh environment of our attic had taken its toll.  But I found a luthier who helped restore it.  Patched the hole in the body, attached a new tailpiece (which has subsequently been replaced by an original) and made the guitar playable again.

I never told my Dad what I was doing with his guitar.  I remember showing it to him after it had been restored.  He started playing and it explained all of those Chet Atkins records we had.  The man could play.

My parents did not provide any exposure to classical music.  That honor came from Bugs Bunny and the Warner Brothers cartoons.  But that’s another story.

Published in: on May 28, 2010 at 10:31 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://craigshifflett.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/music-part-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

